Valparaiso

Today we picked up or Wicked 4wd! With some instructions on how to set up our rooftop tent, and what to do if we crash (basically we are screwed and have to pay everything – or alternatively “crash into another car” and insurance will kick in) we were on our way! Our first stop would be the coastal Valparaiso where we would stay in a hostel before heading north on our road trip.

We did not like Valparaiso. I almost feel awkward writing it because it was so many peoples favourite place in South America – but it wasn’t for us. There is some awesome street art, and the steep streets and funiculars are funky, but there is lots of horrible graffiti, there is so much dog poo everywhere you are watching the ground rather than looking around, and unlike every other place in Chile we went where everyone was friendly I felt a dangerous vibe there. Rather than cool and gritty I found it dirty and stinky.

Maybe we did something wrong but lets just say I wasnt too upset that we only had half a day there. Kind of disappointed we went out for a more expensive dinner than we normally would. The Italian restaurant we went to did serve me one of the best bowls of gnocchi I have ever had so that was probably the best part of Valparaiso for me!

Empanada total: 31

One thought on “Valparaiso

Leave a comment